BlockByBlock

Ideas and discussion from BxB2010 Summit

Some supplemental reading

with one comment

First, I’d like to offer my thanks to Michele, Jay and the RJI crew for putting on Block by Block: It’s the sort of thing that’s been mumbled about by indie local publishers in quick meetings at airports, bars and broader (nonlocal) journalism conferences for some time. In fact, at one point, there was talk of forming the Association of Local Indie Publishers (ALIP) with the motto “No awards; no dues.” Of course, nothing ever happened because we were all too busy paddling like hell to keep Our Little Businesses alive — until now. I’m really looking forward to meeting, learning from and being re-inspired by this group.

I don’t think I’m alone in this, as the timing of my friend (and BxB attendee) Howard Owens’ return to his blog with two must-read posts on running a local site seems more than coincidental:

Howard has provided us some good reading for the plane ride.

Meantime, although it’s a bit outside the strategic and tactical scope of the agenda, I’ve been told by some folks that attended my recent OpenCamp Dallas session that some of my war lessons from raising angel capital and selling our company (twice) were useful to them. If you’re interested in that sort of thing, there’s an annotated version of the SlideShare.

Mike Orren
Pegasus News
@mikeorren

Written by mikeorren

September 22, 2010 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ALIP has promise but LION could roar (Local Independent Online News).

    OTOH a commenter bashed me this morning for using too many acronyms. So I’d better STHU.

    In Chicago already, wandered my way from O’Hare to hotel via the “El” just for fun, looking forward to seeing everybody.

    Tracy @ WSB

    September 23, 2010 at 5:29 am


Leave a Reply

